June report

At last here’s another update and it’s all good news as I continue to mend after February’s radiation therapy.

The pain is less and I’m walking more, doing nearly everything – except not if it involves standing around. The medical team reminds me that it takes a long time to regrow bone (as in my L3 vertebra) so I must be patient. Ha ha, patience is certainly the big lesson we patients have to learn!AliJohn_June2017

I climbed Mt Coolum last Tuesday and felt fabulous with this achievement! So you see, I’m ok really.

On Wednesday I was back in hospital to have my ureteric stent replaced. This is going to be a 6-monthly routine for me it seems. It went really well and hasn’t affected my activities the rest of the week, especially camping at Janet’s place with the family over the weekend.

My only grumble is that the anaesthetist was too quick to start the drip while I was talking with the urologist. I have been waiting for 6 months to find out about kidney blockage and blood pressure etc. I think I managed to ask my questions, slurring my words, but I couldn’t stay awake to hear the answers! I will ask for a review appointment soon.

10 thoughts on “June report”

  1. Great news that you’re feeling better. I’m impressed – climbing Mt Coolum. A real achievement. Well done. I was thinking of you last week on our holiday in Cairns as we visited beautiful Yungaburra.
    Love
    Danni

  2. Alison, you are amazing, and put us all to shame! You and John look really happy, as well you might be. Great photo.

Leave a Reply

