Slow recovery

AliApril17This is just a quick note to let you know how I’m going. It’s about a month since I finished my brief radiation treatment. I am slowly recovering although the pain, nausea and fatigue have lasted longer than I expected. I’m still taking morphine and not able to do much that involves standing or walking. However, there’s plenty to do while sitting down, including fun to be had, so I’m ok really. Lucky me, I’m staying with my Mum for a couple of weeks to rest and play number and word games with her (eg rummykub).

12 thoughts on “Slow recovery”

  1. Hi Alison
    We seem to have missed an episode. Hope you are recovering well. Radiotherapy is not a fun gig?
    Much love Axxx

  2. A Rummykub Recovery. Sounds like a really good plan. I am sure it will help. Love and best wishes from Peter &Jennie

  3. What dietary advice is given to cancer patients nowadays? When my brother was a patient, such advice was rare, but I know that scientists now are investigating it very seriously now, with an emphasis on very low carbs. Controversial, maybe? I was quite surprised to see this. Ditto to the comment above – the power of distraction can be immense. Blessings to you all.

    1. Hi Louisa,
      Yes the research is so interesting, but it’s still very early days and there’s no firm evidence to allow proper recommendations yet. My friend Kieran Clarke is professor at Oxford University developing a ketogenic drink which shows promise for diabetes, epilepsy and many other diseases including eventually (possibly) cancer http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2838298/Diet-Never-mind-healthy-vegetables-diet-FAT-combat-cancer.html
      For now the doctors’ advice is still to eat a good old fashioned balanced nutritional diet. Fair enough – they can’t endorse any possibly wacky fad diets till there’s strong evidence of benefit.
      Thanks for keeping in touch. xx

  4. You are lucky to be able to spend time with your Mum. I think most people when unwell want their mother to look after them. Such special people. Hope the pain lessens and your energy levels return soon. Have a wonderful Easter.
    Love
    Danni

  5. Sounds like good time to stimulate the brain & have mum love!
    Enjoy the slower pace & the views!
    xox

Leave a Reply

