A wee problem

Hi everyone.

I’ve had a couple of routine checkups since the last time I wrote here, with the usual good results showing that my liver is healthily adjusting to this drug I’m on and the cancer is stable, which means the tumours haven’t grown. All very reassuring!

This week I’m celebrating because I’m now in my eighth year since diagnosis (advanced ovarian cancer), a fantastic milestone. I’ve been on this experimental treatment (targeted therapy – rucaparib) for 15 months which is more than double the duration for anyone else locally. There would be patients on rucaparib elsewhere who are doing as well as me but I haven’t met them.

Now for the worrying part – sorry to spoil the story.

My kidneys have started to play up. I’ve had a little bit of nausea and abdominal pain for a couple of months, hurting more this week, and my monthly blood test revealed raised creatin (indicator of kidney stress). An ultrasound scan on Wednesday showed that there’s a blockage caused by old scarring from an old lymph tumour located there. I had a few days in hospital having a stent put in my ureter (kidney to bladder on one side). The procedure went well and I’m recovering – just a little sore and very tired.

It was a bit of drama we didn’t need at Christmas, but lots to feel grateful about. I was back at home on Christmas Eve, had a really wonderful family celebration for Christmas, packed up on Boxing Day and now, believe it or not, we’ve made it to Woodford to camp for the week. Today is Day One of the festival and I am very happy to be here!

Best wishes and Season’s Greetings to you all our dear family and friends near and far, from me and John and the family!

Thank you for your gifts, cards, messages, emails and wishes which have been lovely and I’m sorry I haven’t managed to send out cards – yet. Maybe it’ll happen. I love the connection at this time of year and I also really appreciate your support following my blog.

xxx Alison

32 thoughts on “A wee problem”

  1. Thanks everyone for your best wishes at Christmas.
    I appreciate your thoughtfulness, Kerrie & Helen – I shouldn’t have made my report sound so gung-ho! Don’t worry, I’m well used to pacing myself at Woodford. At a time like this I do my daily shift teaching children to play marimbas, then choose the most restful options for the remainder of the day. My marimba assistants spoiled me and took the heavy jobs. (Thanks Lizz & Lyndel!) I told myself I was just there to bask in the atmosphere and catch up with friends. Any concerts I managed was a bonus. This year I spent four 3-hour sessions in a cool tent weaving, which was restorative in all sorts of ways!

  2. Hello Alison, Sending you our love and greetings. Glad that you were able to enjoy the festive season with your family and to go camping. Your inner strength and positive outlook is truly an inspiration. All the very best for 2017 to you and your family.

  3. Hi Alison! So glad you made it to Woodford in spite of everything! Congratulations on an amazing eight years. You are an inspiration to us all in positivity and honesty., thank you for continuing to send us postcards on your sometimes wild adventure. We got wonderful rain up here, all I wanted for Christmas! Love Jodie

  4. All the best Alison. I'm sure you will pull through once again. Have a great time at Woodford. What's the weather like this year

  5. Dear Alison – bugger! about the kidney problem. I hope the stent helps. In the meantime, enjoy Woodford. much love to you and John Amanda xx

  6. Congratulations Alison! 8 years staying ahead, the strength & courage to deal with hick ups , being an inspiration to all of us & now at Woodford. Have an awesome time – know you will 🙂 Love Gina

  7. Hi Alison, it's been such a long time, I thought the cancer was gone. Sorry to hear that you've had kidney problems but if you call them 'wee', let us hope that they have been overcome and it'll continue to be uphill again from here. All the best for the Christmas season and a happy new year!

  8. Great news that you have made the eight year mark, I know not easy at times but you've managed to power ahead. Support from family and friends so important. Hope the wee problem doesn't recur. Enjoy Woodford, might see you there Wednesday. Lots of Love

  9. Fingers crossed that it was just a wee blip on the horizon and reassuring that you already feel well enough to go camping. Your positive attitude and active lifestyle continues to play an important part and is an exemplar to us all. Happy 2017. xx

  10. I agree with Kerrie – don't overdo it. There's nothing to prove. . . you have been and are an example to us all, but please take it easy now. I call it the 'I wants ' compared with the 'I needs'. Often what we want is not what we need. Happy New Year.

  11. Have a great time! You are an example to us all! 😘❤️

  12. Glad they were able to do something Alison and I'm glad your out of hospital but please don't over do it too much. Yes, I sound like a wet blanket but sometimes we need to slow up even if we don't want to. At our age we don't bounce back like we used to. Have a happy, healthy 2017 xx

  13. Glad they were able to do something Alison and I'm glad your out of hospital but please don't over do it too much. Yes, I sound like a wet blanket but sometimes we need to slow up even if we don't want to. At our age we don't bounce back like we used to. Have a happy, healthy 2017 xx

  14. Have a great time! You are an example to us all! 😘❤️

  15. I agree with Kerrie – don't overdo it. There's nothing to prove. . . you have been and are an example to us all, but please take it easy now. I call it the 'I wants ' compared with the 'I needs'. Often what we want is not what we need. Happy New Year.

  16. Fingers crossed that it was just a wee blip on the horizon and reassuring that you already feel well enough to go camping. Your positive attitude and active lifestyle continues to play an important part and is an exemplar to us all. Happy 2017. xx

  17. Great news that you have made the eight year mark, I know not easy at times but you've managed to power ahead. Support from family and friends so important. Hope the wee problem doesn't recur. Enjoy Woodford, might see you there Wednesday. Lots of Love

  18. Great news that you have made the eight year mark, I know not easy at times but you've managed to power ahead. Support from family and friends so important. Hope the wee problem doesn't recur. Enjoy Woodford, might see you there Wednesday. Lots of Love

  19. Hi Alison, it's been such a long time, I thought the cancer was gone. Sorry to hear that you've had kidney problems but if you call them 'wee', let us hope that they have been overcome and it'll continue to be uphill again from here. All the best for the Christmas season and a happy new year!

  20. Congratulations Alison! 8 years staying ahead, the strength & courage to deal with hick ups , being an inspiration to all of us & now at Woodford. Have an awesome time – know you will 🙂 Love Gina

  21. Dear Alison – bugger! about the kidney problem. I hope the stent helps. In the meantime, enjoy Woodford. much love to you and John Amanda xx

  22. All the best Alison. I'm sure you will pull through once again. Have a great time at Woodford. What's the weather like this year

  23. Hi Alison! So glad you made it to Woodford in spite of everything! Congratulations on an amazing eight years. You are an inspiration to us all in positivity and honesty., thank you for continuing to send us postcards on your sometimes wild adventure. We got wonderful rain up here, all I wanted for Christmas! Love Jodie

  24. Hello Alison, Sending you our love and greetings. Glad that you were able to enjoy the festive season with your family and to go camping. Your inner strength and positive outlook is truly an inspiration. All the very best for 2017 to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

