6-month check-up

Thank you everyone for cheering with me about my great results from the genetics lab.

I love announcing good news, and here's some more: the cancer is still stable according to my scans this week. This means the tumours haven't grown any bigger. Of course I would be thrilled if they would get smaller, especially one that's 6.5mm in diameter and I can feel it in my abdomen, but stable is a fantastic result for now.

And as for my depressed blood counts, at last my haemoglobin and platelets are starting to rise. Hopefully neutrophils will follow. None of the figures are good but the upward trend indicates I'm probably now on the right dose of medicine so I'll stick with it. My CA125 is also nice and low (8). What a relief!

The Peter Mac Cancer Research Centre in Melbourne has tracked me down asking for permission to investigate why I'm doing so well (as-in still alive and having fun after more than 6 years). Of course, I am keen for them to compare my results with those of other patients and I hope they can find out something helpful.

Key to my good progress is my beautiful thoughtful caring team of supporters – you, my family and friends. Your concern and well wishes have been a health tonic!

20 thoughts on “6-month check-up”

  1. There is also that aspect of you that is so totally in love with life and 'spending' every second of it as if it is a diamond.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this news Alison! You are an inspiration of real positivity and looking at the glass as half-full. Nice to have been head-hunted by the researchers, and may they find your secret and bottle it! love Jodie

  3. Excellent news – keep up the good work. Gave me a laugh that they are now questioning why you are doing so well. I look forward to hearing their findings! xx

  4. So pleased Alison your going so well and your enjoying life and family . Keep it up . Xx

  5. All the best Alison.I really trust that things are on the up for you. -it's been a long journey now .

  6. I hope you continue to amaze the researchers, have good results and keep having fun. Love Danni

  7. I hope you continue to amaze the researchers, have good results and keep having fun. Love Danni

  8. All the best Alison.I really trust that things are on the up for you. -it's been a long journey now .

  9. So pleased Alison your going so well and your enjoying life and family . Keep it up . Xx

  10. Excellent news – keep up the good work. Gave me a laugh that they are now questioning why you are doing so well. I look forward to hearing their findings! xx

  11. Thank you so much for sharing this news Alison! You are an inspiration of real positivity and looking at the glass as half-full. Nice to have been head-hunted by the researchers, and may they find your secret and bottle it! love Jodie

  12. There is also that aspect of you that is so totally in love with life and 'spending' every second of it as if it is a diamond.

Leave a Reply

