Another dose reduction

The picture shows me with Maebnbibum who is holding a replica prehistoric Elephant Bird egg at ANSTO where my Dad worked.

Since my anaemic episode and the blood transfusions in January, I resumed taking rucaparib with a lower dose. This seemed to suit me better and I’ve been noticing reduced side effects (the nausea and foul taste).

 

My scans last month showed the cancer is still “stable”, and my CA125 (cancer marker in blood test) has stayed nice and low at values of 8 or 9.

In February I had slightly raised biliruben, indicating some liver stress, so my family kept watching me closely for yellow skin. Naturally there were lots of Simpsons jokes! My liver function is excellent now but my other blood components have been falling again (haemoglobin, platelets, neutrophils etc). Therefore, after my last check-up I changed the dose again – from 600mg twice a day at first, to 500mg and now I take 400mg each time. The doctors recommended I start on a lower dose before my blood condition becomes critical this time. Makes sense! They also reassured me that this treatment doesn’t seem to be dose responsive. A lower dose will help to match what is best for my metabolism without jeopardising effectiveness on the cancer.

Despite my questionable blood counts I’m very happy to be feeling well and able to join in a range of interesting and worthwhile projects and also I’ve been fortunate with opportunities to travel in the last couple of months.

6 thoughts on “Another dose reduction”

  1. Sounds wonderful Alison – in true style you have it in hand! So happy for you! My last scans were good so the positive energetic life continues 🙂 Love & Hugs

  2. Hi Alison, I'm glad you are able to enjoy all your activities and are feeling ok in spite of the strong medication. Xxx

  3. Hi Alison, I'm glad you are able to enjoy all your activities and are feeling ok in spite of the strong medication. Xxx

  4. Sounds wonderful Alison – in true style you have it in hand! So happy for you! My last scans were good so the positive energetic life continues 🙂 Love & Hugs

Leave a Reply

