Christmas Cheer

My scans showed the disease is “stable” and this means the cancer has stopped growing. Hooray!!

Happy Christmas everyone! Cheers and Thank you for all your wishes, prayers, oms, magic spells, kind thoughts, healing vibes, love and support. We areoct2015 a powerful team!!

I looked at the scan pictures on the screen with the doctor, and compared with last time. The big tumour that was giving me pain before I started treatment now looks a little smaller to me, and he agreed. However, the imaging techies reckon it’s about same in diameter. Oh well. These measurements are always very approximate because it’s difficult to compare cross-sections of a lumpy blob. I’m sure there will be real evidence of shrinkage next time.

Of course, the next question on our minds is how long can I hope the treatment might work for me? No one thinks it will be a cure, but they don’t have much information relating to my situation, certainly not medium or long term.

Rucaparib works really well as a maintenance drug, keeping the cancer at bay for patients who start taking the pills just after chemo, when there is no active tumour growth. For this situation (when the genetics are right) it is so effective that the supplier is “fast-tracking” the drug through the FDA approval process. However, the use of rucaparib to stop active cancer is still very experimental and I’ll have to wait and see… I’m feeling lucky 🙂

20 thoughts on “Christmas Cheer”

  1. Merry Christmas Alison! All I want from Santa is that your luck prevails and that lump starts shrinking! love Jodie Eden

  2. Yes it will be a very merry xmas with this good news Alison. I do hope you have a lucky break at last. love AA

  3. Yes it will be a very merry xmas with this good news Alison. I do hope you have a lucky break at last. love AA

  4. Merry Christmas Alison! All I want from Santa is that your luck prevails and that lump starts shrinking! love Jodie Eden

Leave a Reply

