Chest tube out – phew!

I revived last night in time for a decent meal and a good night’s sleep. I am very happy to report that this morning I feel pretty good.

Pain causes nausea. Pain killers (especially taken on an empty stomach) cause nausea. Nausea and vomiting lead to an empty stomach. So you can see how I felt trapped in a vicious cycle over the last couple of days!

This morning (Day 9 since surgery) my catheter came out and now I have only 2 tubes left from a starting point of too many to count. The big chest drain will be the next one to go (this morning I think) and then I’ll be a new person. It is the one that has been causing me the most pain and disability.

I forgot to include in my stocktake that I have an ileostomy (like a colostomy bag) which is temporary while my bowel wounds heal. I think I’m getting the hang of this.

I don’t know many answers to questions yet, eg when I’ll leave hospital and where I’ll go next. The latest word is that the oncologist wants me to start chemo immediately, but I’m still unsure what that means exactly till I meet him tomorrow.

Emails still seem to require more energy than I have at the moment, nor have I had a chance to look at Facebook yet, so all I can do is send my love and an enormous THANKYOU for all your support. It feels like the hand holding I’ve needed to get me through this!!

STOP PRESS: Chest tube is out – Hooray! Also Dr has ordered my last tube (some sort of bunch of canulas in my neck) to be removed soon too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

